Bead soup Blog

Come visit me at my little bead shop for a selection of vintage beads:       https://www.etsy.com/shop/collettesworld           
 Today is reveal Day!
Be sure to check out the other people in this first reveal at the end of this blog 😉
 I have been waiting with beating heart and sweaty palms. This my first Bead Soup Blog Party.!  As Of January I became a new Blogger.I have found I like blogging now the trick is, will you all enjoy reading it….. LOL!  we will see…
 So first of all let me introduce my talented bead partner Tracy Choy.  Below are the links to her shop and blog;
http://www.bumblebeadsdesigns.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/bumblebeadsdesigns
http://www.bumblebeadsdesigns.etsy.com
 Here is the soup she sent me    
Bead soup 1 Tracy Choy                                          This was the soup Tracy sent;  a beautiful crystal clasp with a strand of luscious Swarovski Crystal pearls. Gorgeous! I love the orange sherbet cubes as well well as the Swarovski  in the Sun color. Orange wooden butterfly circles. Some golden nugget glass and some dark blue wooden beads Plus the laser cut focal listed below
Bead soup 1 focal
This is the focal Tracy sent. It is a Laser cut with butterflies. So cute!  But the challenge was that it was a little thin to work with.  So what to do……. Well this is a CHALLENGE!…  Isn’t it????? So I decided to really step out of the box ! I decided to play with some Sculptey clay and make a frame for it.  I have had this package of clay for 6 months to use on an unknown project. So ready Set go!….:-) My first time using this medium!
Sculptey base
This is the base I  started with. I used the focal as a pattern for the back… the back is important too 😉 Sculptey frame
Next I made a frame for it and baked it with the metal focal sandwiched in between. When It was done baking I realized  the butterflies just faded into the background. So looking around …. hmmm what to use…… Ahhhh!  I know I will break out the permanent markers. one orange and one hot pink! I started with the wings but that wasn’t enough. So…. playing with markers
So I played with the markers and in between the butterflies I used some alcohol ink with pearl highlights, it came out matching the orange sherbet cubes perfect. ….So my  next challenge…… how do I use it as a focal. So after some tossing back and forth I decided  to……. drum roll Please…. 🙂 I introduce …
Butterfly Spring!
Bead Soup 1 necklace
I decided to bezel it with complimentary seed beads. I also ran the seed beads from the beautiful crystal clasp under the focal with the cube and seed beads with Swarovski  and flower dangles. The butterflies fly up on the metal chain as if they had been set free from the focal….. I know, I know,  I’m pushing the fantasy  a bit much . But I love the color and movement it gives the piece.  To balance the necklace I used large vintage acrylic pearls on the other side. I used a smaller chain for around the back of the neck.
Bead soup 7 earrings
For the earrings I took the wooden circles and pumped up the color with my trusty permanent marker, made a circke with the Swarovski pearls and added green Swarovski Butterflies on front and back. I thought the turned out quite lovely 😉
Bead Soup 7 Bracelet
Sand and Sea
 Last  but not least. I broke out of the silver mode and headed for the brass. I love these seafoam green crystal with the golden glass nuggets I paired it with a beautiful brass colored leaf toggle and made dangles with the crystals and brass circles. I really love this combo I may just look for some more of these nuggets and make me a matching set
If you’ve gotten this far thank you for reading . I hope you take a look at some of the other things I have blogged about and also get to know me a little better by reading my’ About me’ page.  Now I ‘m free to settle down and visit all the other talented people in the party.  Party on!
          
                                          
Bead soup Preview

bead soup 1This is the actual bead I sent my Bead Blog Swap Party partner , Tracy C. Almost all of the beads are vintage. The Etched brass toggle was handcrafted by me. The lampwork bead I am sad to say that I have forgotten the artist name that made it …sigh… the chain is vintage Swarovski in brass and matte finish sapphire blue. Some brass chain and some bead caps. I’m anxious to see what she comes up with.

Come pay a visit to my little bead shop at:

https://www.etsy.com/shop/collettesworld

Bead soup Blog

Come follow the talent! Press on the Bead Soup Blog’ link to follow

       

Avatar

        Ok, Who knew picking out beads to give to some one else would be so hard.

I was thinking what if my style was so different that they wouldn’t have beads to go with what I send  As an example I started with what clasp I was going to give. But do I give base metal or brass. Sterling filled or sterling? Hmmm…. let me see what the focal bead will be, does it go with the clasp? Does the clasp size overwhelm  the focal or is it to sedate for it. Does the metal type go with the with the focal. Now the supporting cast of beads. Does the metal I’m going with support or go blah with the color of the beads? Next, am I sending enough beads or too much?

Get the picture, it wasn’t as easy as someone saying I like this and this and I don’t like that. That’s easy.   Lori’s instructions were ‘send what you would love to receive’  so I have looked at it and love it. I’m hoping my bead soup partner enjoys what I picked out. And yes I’m anticipating what she may send. Smile

First and Last Name
Blog URL
Alicia Marinache
Amber Dawn Goldish
Barb Solem
Bev Breisinger
Birgitta Lejonklou
Breana Fry
Brenda Sue Lansdowne
Bridget Torres
Carol Dee Myers
Carolyn Chenault
Cassi Paslick
Cece Cormier
Cheryl McCloud
Cindy Wilson
Crystal Thain
Cynthia Riggs
Dana Hickey
Dana James
Darlene Fortier
Deana Hager
Deanna Cox
Deb Brooks
Denielle Hagerman
Denise McCabe

CabeWoman

Diana Frey

Tattered Adornments

Diana Welte
Dini Bruinsma
DiYana Alcalde
Dolores Raml
Donna Millard
Dot Lewallwn
Duane Clark
Dyanne Cantrell
Eleanor Burian-Mohr
Elisabeth Auld
Elizabeth Owens Dwy
Emily Greer
Enikö Fabian
Erin Grant
Eva Kovacs
Eva Sherman
Gina Hockett
Grace Rotenberg
Gretchen Nation
Hannah Rosner
Heather Davis
Heather Marston
Heather Powers
Ingrid McCue
Jacqueline Marchant
Jan Petek
Janeen Sorensen
Jane-Michael Stallings
Jasvanti Patel
Jayashree Paramesh
Jayne Capps
Jean Yates
Jennifer Cameron
Jennifer LaVite
Joan Williams

lilruby jewelry

Jodie Marshall
Judy Riggs
Julie Anne Leggett
Kat Barron Miller
Kathy Lindemer
Kim Hora
Kim Houston
Kim Sparks
Krafty Max
Kris Lanae Binsfeld
Krista French
Kristen Stevens
Kristi Harrison
Kumi Fisher
Laren Dee Barton
Laura Bracken
Laura Demoya
Laurie Hanna
Laurie Keefe-Cecere
Lea Avroch
Leanne Loftus
Lee Anne Messerschmidt
Leslie Schenkel
Linda Anderson
Linda Djokic
Linda Murphy
Linda Sadler
Lisa Liddy
Lisa Suver
Liz DeLuca
Liz Engriser
Lola Surwillo
Loretta Carstensen
Lori Anderson
Lori Bergmann
Lori Bowring Michaud
Lori Poppe
Lori Schneider
Lyn Foley
Maddison Langford
Magdalena Sikora
Mallory Hoffman
Marcella Austenfeld
Marcy Lamberson
Maria Clark
Maria Rosa Sharrow
Marianna Boylan
Marie Covert
Marti Conrad
Mary Ellen Merrigan
Mary Harding
Molly Alexander
  Nan Emmett
  Spirit Rattles :: Spirited Earth
Niky Sayers
Pam Chesbro
Pam Farren
Pam Sandy
Pam Traub
Klassy Joolz
Pamela Gangler
Patricia Buchanan
Patricia Johnson
Paula Hisel
Peggy Gabrielson
Perri Jackson
Rachel Baron
Rachel Stanley
Rain Hannah
Rana Wilson
Renetha Stanziano
Robin Reed
Rochelle Brisson
Rose Rushbrooke
Ruth Szapa
Sally Russick
The Studio Sublime
Sandi Volpe
Sandra Pendragon
Sandy Richardson
Sarah Small
Shannon Hicks
Shari Replogle
Sheila Daniels
Sheila Davis
Shiraz Biggie
Shirley Moore
Skylar Bre’z

Brising Beads

Staci Smith
Stacy Pomerleau
Stephanie Weiss
Sumi Rani
Susan Sheehan
Susan Sheehan, Strands of Thought
Suzette Bentley

Ellie’s Bijoux

Tamera Norris
Tracy Choy
BumbleBeads Designs
Tracy Stillman
Valerie Norton
Vicki Holliday

26 thoughts on “Bead soup Blog

    1. deannaaki Post author

      I’m so new to this blogging thing. Still trying to figure out how to link and post pictures. So ya’ll bear with me while I learn this new dance. 😉

      Reply
  1. Dolores

    Love how your focal turned out which looks really good on your necklace. Beautiful bracelet and I love how you colored the wood butterflies for your earrings. Great job.

    Reply
  2. Beth Olson

    Beautiful & creative! I want to know more about the markers. Also, I think you’re project was harder than hers cause the beads you sent are color coordinated. I like that you were up to the challenge of coloring your soup ingredients!

    Reply
  3. Robin Kae Reed

    WOW!!! You did an amazing job!!! I love all of your pieces!!! The focal was pure inspiration!!! Great Job. Have a Blessed Day!

    Reply
  4. coffeelizard

    Wowzers Deanna! The Treasure you came up with from the Swap was amazing! So proud of the focal pendant being born from the butterfly ‘chrysalis’ metal to imprint the Sculptey Clay. Then the fantastic idea going-off in your brain to “Stay Calm and Bead” and not become sidetracked by the lack of definition and texture after ‘cooking’ the pendant , just grabbing some perfect matching ink from your markers was BrIlLiAnT ! Keep rockin’ the beads and your Beaded Dreams! GREAT JOB, GF !
    Your Sister from anothermother,
    Becki

    Reply
  5. CraftyHope

    Yes, I’m still hopping. Sorry for the delay in getting here.
    I really love how you thought way out of the box with your silver butterfly pendant by using the polyclay and markers. It worked out so nice. And then to use the markers again on the pieces for the earrings. Awesome.
    Nice job overall!!

    Reply
    1. deannaaki Post author

      Thank you so much. They really were pieces that weren’t different from what I normally work with and took some thought as how to use them.

      Reply

Leave a comment